Notes from underground

يارب يسوع المسيح ابن اللّه الحيّ إرحمني أنا الخاطئ

Wired!

A couple of weeks ago my computer began switching itself off and rebooting unexpectedly. At first I wondered whether the CPU was overheating — that had happened once before when I had one with an AMD processor, which tended to overheat.

Eventually I thought it might be the multiplug adapter I was using, and so I replaced it, or rather I replaced the first of three, which had a built-in surge protector. Perhaps it has been zapped by lightning. The new one was really long, so I thought I could reclaim some desk space by just having one adapter instead of three, but no such luck.

Two of the devices I use have transformers built in to the plugs. This means that when you plug them in, they cover two other holes, and so make those unusable. So I needed two multiplug adapters.

But then I tried to plug my printer in. It has a round plastic two-pin plug, and each adapter had a socket for one of those. The trouble is that the manufacturers had cunningly installed a plastic plate that blocked the prongs of the plug. So the printer would not plug into either, no matter how much force was applied.

So in the end I had to have a third one, just to plug in the printer, and my desk looks as bad as it ever did.

Design for the real world, anyone?

multiplug

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Wired!

  1. CherryPie on said:

    I have just replaced my under-desk multi plug surge protector for a tower one. No more tangled wires under the desk and easy access to all the plugs as it is now on the back of my desk behind the monitor.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000OV0CEY/ref=pe_217191_31005151_dp_1

    I can’t claim the credit for finding it, that was down to Mr C 🙂

Leave a Reply

