Notes from underground

يارب يسوع المسيح ابن اللّه الحيّ إرحمني أنا الخاطئ

Good omens – book review

Good OmensGood Omens by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My younger son is a great fan of Terry Pratchett, so I bought this book as a birthday present for him, and when he finished he passed it back to me to read. Terry Pratchett is not my cup of tea, and the only one of his Discworld books I’ve tried to read I never managedf to finish. But I have enjoyed books by Neil Gaiman, and I quite enjoyed this one.

It’s about an angel and a demon, Aziraphale and Crowley, who are charged by their respective principals with some of the preparations for the battle of Armageddon, but make some serious errors, which they then together attempt to cover up.

The Antichrist, who was meant to be brought up by an American diplomat, and presumably to grow up in a position to be able to influence the statesment of the world, is instead entrusted to an accountant and his wife in a small English country town. Aziraphale and Crowley are desperate to get him to fulfil his destiny, but his middle-class upbringing and healthy country living seem to thwart them at every turn. His life as a schoolboy with his friends seems to resemble that of Richmal Crompton‘s William Brown. One possible alternative title for the book was William the Antichrist.

While it isn’t the best book I’ve read, and not even the best end of the world book I’ve read, it certainly makes better reading than The Late Great Planet Earth by Hal Lindsey.

View all my reviews

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Good omens – book review

  1. It’s actually one of my all-time favourites. The middle -class-English-culture bashing is poignant.
    love
    t in j

Leave a Reply

