Notes from underground

يارب يسوع المسيح ابن اللّه الحيّ إرحمني أنا الخاطئ

Another book to cross off your list

The Lost Boy (Patrik Hedström, #7)The Lost Boy by Camilla Läckberg

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I quite enjoyed the only other book by Camilla Läckberg that I have read, The stonecutter, but I doubt that I’ll finish this one. It is simply too frustrating and incomprehensible.

One of the early scenes is a funeral. At first it is not clear who has died or how, but then there is some reference to “the accident”. I’m now 120 pages into the book, and there have been several more references to “the accident”, but I’m still not sure what happened, who was involved in it, or how it affects the plot of the book, other than that it seems to have resulted in the protagonist, detective Patrik Hedström, not being able to work full time. Though at times it seems that that may have been the result of illness rather than “the accident”.

Perhaps all this is made clear in the previous book in the series, but to find out would mean going out searching bookshops for a book that may by now be out of print. This seems to be becoming a trend, and a rather annoying one. I noticed it when reading the books of Louise Penny, where there were references to things that had happened in previous books of the series, but in those it did not affect one’s understanding of the book one was actually reading. In The lost boy, however, it simply makes Camilla Läckberg another author to cross off my list. Unless I get very, very bored, I’ll probably never finish it.

View all my reviews

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

