Notes from underground

يارب يسوع المسيح ابن اللّه الحيّ إرحمني أنا الخاطئ

An unreal dream bike

This morning I was walking past a shop window, and I saw a bike.

It was the kind of bike I’ve been looking for for 25 years, ever since my bike was stolen.

It wasn’t racing bike.

It wasn’t a mountain bike

and, sadly, it wasn’t for sale

it was

A plains bike

A plains bike

… a plains bike

with real mudguards.

But it wasn’t in a bike shop.

It was in a phone shop.

Isn’t life sad?

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “An unreal dream bike

  1. In Woodheads, which is a leather shop in Cape Town, they sell old fashioned simple black bikes, or at least they used to. But I suppose that is a bit far away, and, if I remember correctly, they weren’t cheap.

  2. Peter on said:

    To get mine, I got the simplest good bicycle I could find, then added a rack, lights, and fenders afterwards.

  3. You’ll have to construct one, Steve.

Leave a Reply

