Notes from underground

يارب يسوع المسيح ابن اللّه الحيّ إرحمني أنا الخاطئ

It’s cool to be Christian again

I’ve seen various comments along the lines of “It’s cool to be Christian again”, pointing to recent statements by the Roman Pope and retired Anglican Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

There seemed to be something missing there, however, because the Anglican Archbishop of Canterbury made some statements that were just as newsworthy, and just as widely reported, it seems, but were not, apparently, seen to be cool by the current arbiters of “cool”.

Here, for the record, are some of the blog posts and comments on the Archbishop of Canterbury’s statements.

I suppose it depends on how you define “cool”.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “It’s cool to be Christian again

    • I’m not sure how to take that 🙂

      • Sorry, couldn’t help myself. 🙂

        Cool is one of those words that are totally superfluous ( outside of a thermal sense ) that make no sense to me and couldn’t see myself ever using it.

        And when I see it used within the context of church, especially with respect to ‘yoof’ I just cringe and die a little inside.

        Doesn’t help that the more I think about pronouncing ‘cool’ that the more I have trouble saying it.

  1. “Cool”, in the metaphorical sense, was superseded by “laid back”, and then in turn replaced “awesome” with a different meaning, so that it now means almost the opposite. So to know what “cool” means in any given passage, you need to know

    (1) When it was written.
    (2) The age of the person who wrote it.

    See Coolness and dispassion | Khanya on my other blog.

  2. Steve, it does indeed depend on how “cool” is defined.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.